It’s about time!

I’ve wanted to write a blog for several years, but didn’t know if I had it in me.  There are a few reasons for that.  One is the fact that there are a ton of really good blogs out there already.  I learn a great deal from many of them and thought that my words would just be white noise.  Another reason I’ve been hesitant to write is that there are many more blogs that are inconsistent or poorly written.  I can’t help but feel embarrassed for some of those writers and wonder if my blog will fall into that rut.  I know that life gets busy and the blog might become a low priority.  Will some of you read my blog and think it’s a drag?  I hope not!

It also takes a certain amount of courage to write about your ideas.  I think this is especially true in the Christian Church.  Church communities have certain expectations about what the members and leaders believe.  If you don’t believe A, then you clearly don’t believe the Bible.  This is an unfortunate approach to Scripture.  To be sure, some interpretations are a stretch, and others have no respect for the text whatsoever.  But I think it is important to hear each other out.  If you bear with my blog for a while, you will probably find some of my upcoming posts challenging.  Please read on.  As an educator, I have told my students that reading challenging material is like lifting weights at the gym.  You have to strain through parts of it, and you’ll be sore for a few days, but you’ll be happy with the results later.

Over the next few weeks I plan on writing about matters of creationism, evolution, and the biblical person Adam.  I’ve read some material on these topics over the past few months and want to flesh some of my thoughts out here.  Stay tuned!

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “It’s about time!

  1. hey Dr.

    Just wanted to post a note that I am reading your posts. Interesting…..

    Keep them coming.

    Jason T.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

goodbye religion

So long to institutional thinking...

jeff gissing

the business of books

Dunelm Road

Dunelm is Latin for Durham (England)

Next Theology

Just another WordPress.com site

Semitica

An Academic Blog

100worddash

Just another WordPress.com site

maskil leDawid

meditations, supplications, lamentations, disputations

Naturalis Historia

Exploring the Intersection of Science and Faith in the Spirit of John Ray

