An Excellent Wife. My Wife.

“Who can find a virtuous and capable wife? She is more precious than rubies. Her husband can trust her,and she will greatly enrich his life.  She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.” (Proverbs 31:10-12 NLT)

Perhaps it is a little off topic, but I’d like to make a brief post here about my awesome wife.  Allyson has stood by my side for more than eleven years in marriage.  In all of the time that I’ve been in school, she has supported me and encouraged me more times than I can count.  I can’t tell you how many nights she would have to go to bed alone because I was up late finishing (or starting!) a research project.  Several other nights, I’d be in the library doing research while she held down the fort at home.

Several times I would come home, musing over things I had discoverd in seminary: different views of the eschaton, the mystery of hypostasis, the use of the waw consecutive (that’s Hebrew).  I’d try sharing these things with Allyson but (you married seminary students will get this), she just wasn’t as interested as I was.  “Come on!” I would think, “Don’t you see how cool it is that Christ was mentioned in the protoevangelium hundreds of years before his birth?”  The technical stuff I studied actually thrilled me, but those things really weren’t her speed.

She was more interested in fomenting her personal walk with Christ. The technical concepts that I concentrated on were not as important to her if they didn’t deepen her personal relationship with Christ.  So she focused on her own personal Bible studies and I focused on mine.

Now, this is what I’m really getting at. My wife and I have different ideas on the Bible and theology, and we’re cool with that.

We both believe that God is sovereign.  I, however, am a Calvinist in my view of salvation.  Allyson does not go that far.

I prefer an allegorical view of Genesis 1-3, but Allyson takes a literal view of it.

I believe that the flood of Genesis was probably a local flood.  Allyson sees a worldwide flood.

I am friendly to some amillennial ideas, but Ally is pretty much a pre-mil’er all the way.

I know some of my views seem weird to folks in my tradition, but Allyson takes a literal view of all the Bible.

You see, we disagree about several things, but that doesn’t separate us.  It strengthens us.  Religiously, we agree on the essentials, which include trusting in Christ alone for salvation.  Still, we talk about our theological disagreements from time to time, and so learn more about each other every time.  Allyson is a strong thinker, an individualist with strong commitments to family and community.  An important trait of the ideal woman portrayed in Proverbs 31.

My wife is excellent!  I trust her.  She enriches my life.  She is worth more to me than I can say!  We do not agree on all things, but we are united in our commitment to Christ and to each other.  I just love that about her!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “An Excellent Wife. My Wife.

  1. Pingback: Genesis 1:3 "And the Mighty One said" - Bowie, TX 76230Bowie Rocks

  2. Jimmy

    Sounds like your wife has it all right in regards to God’s Word. You should listen to her.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

goodbye religion

So long to institutional thinking...

jeff gissing

books | culture | theology

Dunelm Road

Dunelm is Latin for Durham (England)

Next Theology

Just another WordPress.com site

Semitica

An Academic Blog

100worddash

Just another WordPress.com site

maskil leDawid

meditations, supplications, lamentations, disputations

Naturalis Historia

Exploring the Intersection of Science and Faith in the Spirit of John Ray

